Visualising the green economy

I was thinking the other day as I drove to the shops to pick up screws for a building project that the amount of energy used just to pick up shopping is gigantic. I was wondering how much forest had become fossilized just for me to get that litre of diesel that I used to go back and forth to the shops.

  • Given that  forest material went to making oil (I will try to find estimates and update this text)
  • And given that one trip to the shops was one litre of diesel,
  • How much forest (in terms of hectare or weight) went into making the diesel?
  • How much work by hand would I have to do to get that much wood out of the forest as, say firewood?
Leave a Reply

